The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House by Stephanie Lam (Review)

21443281

I received this free from the publisher via NetGalley
Actual Rating 2.5

Rosie Churchill, in 1965, has moved out from her mother’s house, and left school and moved to Castaway House in a seaside town. But she finds clues to the houses past which uncovers a scandal which took place there. In 1925, Robert Carver is invited to stay at Castaway House over the summer by his cousin, Alec Bray, who owns the place. While there he grows close to his cousins wife and secrets are spilled and made which leads to Roberts life being changed forever.

I was really looking forward to reading this. I got accepted on NetGalley ages ago but I am making my way through all my NetGalley books. I thought the story sounded suspenseful and intriguing, but I was sadly disappointed. I don’t read many adult books, I much prefer my YA, but I have been trying to read out of my comfort zone. Unfortunately, The Mysterious Affair at Castaway House was a bit of a letdown. That isn’t to say that this was a bad book, and I did enjoy aspects of it, but overall, I was a little disappointed.

I felt little suspense or mystery. Over half the book was just background information of the family and leading up to the affair, and frankly it bored me quite a bit. I much preferred reading from Rosie’s POV. I enjoyed her character more, and the mystery surrounding the old man was much more interesting that anything about Robert Carver. I did like how the author linked the past and the present together, she did do it pretty well. But other than that I felt myself get very bored. Whenever Robert’s POV came up, and I felt myself rushing through it to get back to Rosie. I preferred her relationships and friendships to Robert’s. I felt more mystery in her time than in Roberts. Robert was a boring person with little interesting qualities. But Rosie was a whole different story with a more interesting past and I just preferred her much better. She had a lot more character growth and development, she was learning independence, finding her sexuality, etc. Whereas Robert fell in love with his cousins wife and had an affair. Far less interesting in my opinion, but others may like it.

Overall it was an okay read. I wouldn’t recommend to anyone under the age of 18 as it had mature themes. I would suggest having a look at this if you enjoy adult historical fiction, as my opinion is a personal one and others may enjoy this, even if I didn’t as much as I would have liked.

This is released on August 28th

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆ (2.5)

Leave a Reply

