Ruin and Rising (The Grisha #3) by Leigh Bardugo (Review)

19182039

Well that was heartbreaking.

‘The Saint woke every day to the sound of her name being chanted, and each day her army grew, its ranks swollen with the hungry and the hopeless, with wounded soldiers and children barely large enough to carry rifles.’

I loved this book. Unlike some, I am wholly happy with how this series ended. Yes it was heartbreaking, and the reader was put through some serious emotional trauma, but generally, it was a happy ending. (view spoiler)

I’ll try to refrain from spoilers, but perhaps it might be best not to read if you haven’t read Ruin and Rising, or any of the previous books because there will be spoilers for them. (I’ve copied from Goodreads, so if you want to see the spoilers just click on the links!)

Ruin and Rising picks up not long after Siege and Storm and Alina is still recovering from her fight with the Darkling. Alina and the refugee Grisha’s, along with Mal, set off to find Nikolai and then the Firebird, the final amplifier so that Alina has the power to defeat the Darkling. There’s some heart stopping moments and some heartbreaking moments along the way as Alina finds the strength within herself to take down the Darkling.

To me, this story was about Alina finding her inner strength and overcoming her urges to be like the Darkling. It was about finding love from someone who saw her for her not an object of power, and she got just that. (view spoiler)

I loved Alina in this. I thought she was fierce, yet drawn to power and feared what it would do to her, feared that it would turn her into the Darkling. I also loved Mal. He is kind and selfless when it comes to Alina. I enjoyed their love story because it’s an eternal and innocent one.

“…I can’t give you a title or an army or any of the things you need.”

My favourite character though, was Nikolai. Charming, drop-dead gorgeous, intelligent and fearless. (view spoiler)

I loved Genya too, and David. I loved Genya and David together.

“Beauty was your armour. Fragile stuff, all show. But what’s inside you? That’s steel. It’s brave and unbreakable. And it doesn’t need fixing.”

I’m sad the series ended, but I’m happy how it ended.

I’m going to go stitch up my heart now, and drown in tears of sorrow.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Buy now at Book Depository

Leave a Reply

