Looking for Alaska by John Green (Review)

10518900

“The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.”

Miles life is uneventful until he goes to a boarding school in Alabama. He befriends his room-mate Chip, or as people call his Colonel. He is introduced to Alaska, the unpredictable and wild girl who he falls in love with. Miles wants to find the ‘Great Perhaps’.

From looking at the ratings from my goodreads friends, it is ahuge understatement to say I am in the minority. I loved John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. But it seems to me that it was a one-off. I have read Paper Towns and I found it dull and annoying. The same can be said for Looking for Alaska in my opinion.

I found it hard to relate to anyone in this book. They all smoked, got drunk all the time and played pranks. I just didn’t see the fun in all that and I just didn’t relate to them at all. I didn’t like Alaska, or Miles. I only really liked Colonel.

I felt like the story dragged so much, despite being such a small book. I already knew what happened to Alaska because, well, it is pretty hard to avoid spoilers on the internet, especially for a book written by John Green.

In my personal opinion, John Green and this book are too hyped. I went in with little expectations after reading Paper Towns, so it wasn’t much of a surprise when I didn’t really enjoy it.

MY RATING: ★★☆☆☆

One thought on “Looking for Alaska by John Green (Review)

Leave a Reply

