To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (Review)

15749186

“Margot would say she belongs to herself. Kitty would say she belongs to no one. And I guess I would say I belong to my sisters and my dad, but that won’t always be true. To belong to someone—I didn’t know it, but now that I think about, it seems like that’s all I’ve ever wanted. To really be somebody’s, and to have them be mine.”

Instead of telling her crushes of her feelings, Lara Jean writes them down in a letter and hides them in a hat box under her bed. It’s her way of letting go, of moving on from these crushes. Whilst Lara Jean never intends for them to get sent, they do anyway as you would expect, and Lara Jean must face the consequences.

I must admit I was pleasantly surprised by To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before because, whilst I was super excited to start it (I really enjoyed Burn for Burn and I need the next one), the first few chapters left me a bit…meh. Then I met Peter Kavinsky and all was forgiven. 

In order to ‘save face’ in front of her current crush, Josh (after he receives a letter), she unexpectedly kisses an old crush…in front of the entire school. Peter is a jerk at times, sure, but deep down he’s actually a pretty darn nice guy. As soon as I saw the relationship between the two of them, I had forgotten all about Josh (sorry Josh!). And at first, Lara Jean did annoy me and her voice was a tad naive, but throughout the story, you really see her grow and it’s a pleasure to read.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was a cute, lighthearted and humorous read and a series I’ll be sure to keep up with.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

