Get Even (Don’t Get Mad #1) by Gretchen McNeil (Review)

16005219

I received a free copy from the publishers via Edelweiss.

My god, that was awesome.

I had very high expectations of Get Even because I love mysteries and I love revenge stories. It did not disappoint and was strangely addictive. I would definitely recommend to fans of contemporary, and fans of Burn for Burn by Jenny Han.

Margot, Kitty, Olivia and Bree are from completely different social circles. Margot is an overachiever who doesn’t have many friends, Bree is a bit of a rebel craving her father’s attention, Olivia is a popular drama student and Kitty is the captain of the volleyball team. The four girls share a very special secret – they’re all members of the Don’t Get Mad revenge group, a group set out to seek vengeance for their peers silent suffering at the hands of bullies. They’ve managed to stay well hidden until one of their targets ends up dead and DGM are the prime suspects.

I cannot even contains my feelings for this book and I was thinking about it for DAYS after I had finished it. It’s one of those books that leaves you with a serious case of book hangover. I’m still trying to wrap my head around it and sorting through the clues and my list of suspects. Get Even is seriously full of suspense and I loved every damn second of this thrilling ride. It’s cliché at times, cheesy and overly dramatic, but who gives a damn? Because this was a seriously fun and addictive book that leaves you eager for the next one.

That cliff-hanger though, my god.

Ok, now one of my favourite things about Get Even were the characters. Each had such distinct personalities and I loved each one. Kitty and Bree were quick favourites, with Margot slowly creeping up on me. I honestly didn’t expect to love the characters as much as I do. I loved John as well, and Logan and Ed the Head, and suspicious of so many other characters. Just like the girls, I’m having a very hard time trusting them. Rex and Amber I hated, as with the Coach, because they’re typical bullies. I know for a fact that bullies get away with it, and this book showed that (melodramatically of course, but did it nonetheless).

I’ve read some mixed reviews. Some loved it, some not so much. I highly suggest you pick this book up September 16th and find out for yourself whether you’ll love it.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

