The Bone Season (The Bone Season #1) by Samantha Shannon

The_Bone_Season_cover

A great dystopian!

“Knowledge is dangerous. Once you know something, you can’t get rid of it. You have to carry it. Always.”

The Bone Season is set in the year 2059. Paige Mahoney is what’s known as a clairvoyant. Clairvoyants have been shunned by society; hunted, killed, imprisoned. Paige is a rare type of clairvoyant, she’s a Dreamwalker which means that she can enter other people’s dreamscapes, their minds. She works in the underground syndicate, working for a man called Jaxon. When Paige is hunted and kidnapped by Scion, she is sent to Oxford, a place thought destroyed. The Rephaite control Oxford, a powerful race who have come from the Netherworld. The Rephaites see the voyants and their slaves and soldiers and treat them as such. Warden lays claim to Paige and trains her, but he is the enemy and Paige is determined to fight for her freedom.

This is a very complex book. Interesting, but complex. I must admit that it took me a while to get into The Bone Seasonbecause of all the information dumping that occurred in the first half, and it was rather disorientating. Shannon re-imagined and recreated the past to suit her story, and it could have gonehorribly wrong, but it didn’t. It was seamlessly brought together and explained thoroughly enough that I found myself enthralled in this new history Shannon had created. It’s a Dystopia that you most certainly don’t want to miss.

The characters, whilst I had my doubts, won me over in the end. Paige is a character to be deeply admired. She’s witty, intelligence and courageous. She feared herself and what she could do and questioned the strengths of her abilities throughout the novel, created such a dynamic and flawed character that I felt almost instantly attached. Warden was a character I found I had to learn to trust and like. Shrouded in mystery, he took Paige under his wing, though I’m not entirely sure that his true motives were ever revealed. There were some other great characters that I was quick to love such as Michael, among others.

I know there is a lot of hype surrounding this book, as well as mixed reviews. I suggest you figure it out for yourself and pick this one up.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

