The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong (Review)

9801384

“I want you to have big dreams, big goals. I want you to strive to achieve them. But I don’t want to see you beating yourself up every time you make a mistake.” 

Maya lives in a small little down, in the middle of nowhere in Vancouver. The Gathering takes place after the death of Maya’s friend Serena. Then strange things start to happen. Mountain Lions are being spotted more than usual, Maya is experiencing things when she touches animals, she is getting called a witch. He friend Daniel is also experiences things which can’t be explained.

really loved Kelley Armstrong’s other series The Darkest Powers so when I found out this was a sequel series I really wanted to read it. If has a different feel to The Darkest Powers and I didn’t enjoy it as much, but it is still a good read.

I will start with the plot. Nothing actually really happened till the last 20% of the book. It was fairly slow paced, the background and settings were being put in place, but I didn’t find myself getting bored. The plot basically revolved around Maya and her character development and romance bad boy Rafe and friendship with Daniel. There was an element of paranormal to this book, but not largely so if you are looking for a paranormal romance, but light on the paranormal then I do suggest you give this a go. The world building was good, and felt realistic. I enjoyed the Native’s history and culture in the book.

The characters were actually very enjoyable. Maya was a good protagonist and her character development was good. She had a good sense of humour and she made be giggle sometimes with the stuff she said. She was very sarcastic and brave and I really liked that. Daniel was another favourite. It is very unusual to read a book where there is a good strong male and female friendship which isn’t romantic. It shows the struggles with that type of friendship, like would an intimate conversation or a hug send off the wrong message and be interpreted wrong. I am glad Kelley Armstrong didn’t turn that friendship into a love triangle with Rafe. The romance was nice, cute and fluffy and I actually really enjoyed it.

Overall, it is a nice paranormal romance which, if you are a fan of Kelley Armstrong or her other series The Darkest Powers, then I do suggest you give this a go. I can’t promise you will enjoy it as much, but I found it a good read.

MY RATING: ★★★★☆
Leave a Reply

