Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger (Review)

13209618

“It’s no good choosing your first husband from a school for evil geniuses. Much too difficult to kill.” 

Sophronia has been sent off to the Finishing Academy by her mother who couldn’t wait to get rid of her. She believed she was going there to be taught how to be lady. Little did she know she would also be taught how to live a life of crime. Respectably of course.

I heard a lot of good things about Gail Carriger so I saw this book on sale for 3 for £5 and I couldn’t resist and thought I would give the author a go. Unfortunately I was a little disappointed. I still enjoyed it, but I think I may try her Parasol Protectorate series and hope I enjoy it more. I liked the idea of the book, and the plot was good but it did drag at times. The characters were fun, but nothing special and I didn’t feel much of a strong attachment to anyone.

Overall, it was a nice enjoyable read. Perhaps if you are a fan of the author you may want to give it a go.

I don’t like reviewing a book so long after I read them because unless I loved it or hated it I have a hard time writing a lengthy review, so this short one will have to do, sorry! It’s a shame university took over so much of my time, but got a few months off now, so it’s all good.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆
Leave a Reply

