Through to You by Lauren Barnholdt (Review)

18629799

*I received a free copy via Edelweiss.

Harper has never been noticed by Penn before until he leaves a note on her desk saying he liked her sparkle – the tinsel she put in her hair for school spirit day. Both are surprised that Penn has shown Harper some attention. They start to hang out, ditch school and have fun. But Penn think he’s in no position for a relationship, but pursue’s one anyway, albeit a hot-and-cold one. Differing pasts, differing ideals, yet drawn together anyway.

I was hoping for a fun and loving YA contemporary romance, but that’s not what I got. The pacing was rushed and the plot over done – bad boy meets good girl and good girl proceeds to change and fix bad boy. Cliché and predictable and I found little enjoyment in reading Through to You.

To top it all off, I didn’t really like Penn. At all. His inabilities to communicate feelings and how he continuously ignored Harper when things got too much for him was almost unbearable. Yet Harper, sweet, good-girl, innocent Harper, fell for him over and over and was won over by a kiss or two and a quick, half-hearted apology. I felt very little emotional attachment to the characters and didn’t find myself rooting for Penn and Harper.

Perhaps those much more invested in contemporary romances will like this, but I don’t think it was for me. If I’m going to read a contemporary, I want it to be awesome and heart-wrenching or funny and wild, this was neither I’m afraid, though don’t take my word for it and I still suggest you give it a read if you want to.

RATING: ★★☆☆☆

Leave a Reply

