Dissonance by Erica O’Rourke (Review)

20527082

I received a free copy from the publishers via Edelweiss

That was pretty damn awesome.

Dissonance follows the life of Delancy Sullivan who is a Walker, or at least training to be, and has the ability to walk between worlds in the multiverse. Del’s job is to keep harmony between all the worlds, worlds that are created through choices. When Del is suspended by the Council because of a Walk gone bad, she begins to unravel something bigger than Park World, all the whilst falling for Echo Simon and Original Simon, but a powerful secret threatens them all.

One thing I really admired about Dissonance was the incredibly well thought out, intricately woven and brilliantly executed world building. There was no big info dump, but it was revealed slowly and concisely throughout the novel. Whilst the science stuff confused me at times (because I don’t understand it and barely passed physics), I found that it was explained nicely. I thought the multiverse was very interesting and well done. It was one of the best things about the book.

Another great thing about Dissonance were the characters who were so multi-dimensional that I fell for each one. Whilst there was the obvious girl and best friend and unattainable bad boy love triangle, I still found myself loving each character individually. Del was a seriously badass character, even though she annoyed me at times, but it made her all the more realistic. She made mistakes, she had serious authority issues and she was hot headed and reckless, but I still loved her as a character and her development throughout the novel was such a pleasure to read. Then there is her sister, Addie, who I disliked at times but liked at others; seemingly a heartless, by-the-book, girl, Addie proves herself to be caring and thoughtful, though still puts the Key World and the Consort first. I really enjoyed the dynamic between Del and Addie. Eliot was also a great character, though I felt like I didn’t see him as much as I would have liked, but his devotion to Del is admirable. At first, I really shipped the relationship between Simon and Del though I felt that their interaction became a little stiff when he found out who she was. I’m not sure if it was intentional or not, but I didn’t like their relationship as much. I still totally ship it though.

Then there is the plot, and the massive plot twists that are revealed towards the end, and I’m left like…whatttttt? Monty? *Sad face*. But seriously though, an incredibly engaging plot, though it moves slow at times.

A great read and I highly suggest giving it a go.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

