The Falconer by Elizabeth May (Review)

tumblr_n2uqu2aoHr1s3q7eyo1_250

*I received a free copy from the publishers via edelweiss

The Falconer follows the life of 18 year old Aileana who witnesses the death of her mother at the hands of the Fae. Ever since, she’s hunted the Fae, determined to kill the one who killed her mother with the help of a mysterious mentor. Soon, Aileana finds out she’s the last in the line of Fae hunters, known as Falconers. Soon, things get much more dangerous when stronger Fae arrive in Edinburgh and Aileana has a responsibility to save the world.

I had high expectations of this, and at times, I was pleasantly surprised, but overall I was slightly disappointed. Firstly, if you’re looking for an action packed read, then this is certainly something you will enjoy. Fast paced with plenty of suspense and thrill. The plot wasn’t anything intricate or complicated, but easy to understand and interesting. If you like faeries and books about such things, then I would highly recommend The Falconer because I think they were very well done, especially with all the different kinds of Fae.

One thing that I felt The Falconer failed on was the characters. At times I enjoyed them, but at others I felt they fell a little flat. The dialogue at times felt stilted and this lessened my enjoyment of the characters interaction. However, there is no denying that Aileana is a badass female protagonist who challenges the 19th Century role of women. I also didn’t feel at all emotionally invested in the secondary characters, nor the romance. For me, the character development and interactions was disappointing.

I also found The Falconer had the same feel to it as Soulless by Gail Carriger.If you’re a fan of that series or a fan of Fae in books, then I would give this a shot.

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

