Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

17406539

“Why won’t you leave me alone?” I whispered one night as he hovered behind me while I tried to work at my desk.

Long minutes passed. I didn’t think he would answer. I even had time to hope he might have gone, until I felt his hand on my shoulder.

“Then I’d be alone, too,” he said, and he stayed the whole night through, till the lamps burned down to nothing.”

Siege and Storm picks up not long after Shadow and Bone, with Mal and Alina on the run from The Darkling and his grisha. However, he soon catches up and Alina is once again taken captive. They are saved by the privateer Sturmhond, who has a secret identity. Alina and her new friend battle to save Ravka and destroy The Darkling.

I’m always really reluctant to read the second in any series because I’m always wary it won’t compare to the first. Yet, Siege and Storm blew me away. You’re introduced to some new characters that you will begin to care deeply for. Alina’s stength is, again, to be admired. The Darklings cunning and wit is something to be afraid of. His new creatures are dangerous and strong, and Alina is the only one who can stop him. Whilst I really enjoy Mal and Alina, Alina and Sturmhond had chemistry also, and perhaps less forced.

The plot was intriguing and developed at a fast pace. I was captivated from the beginning and at many times I forgot I was actually reading a book, and has the book has a great atmosphere to it. Leigh Bardugo’s writing is beautiful and descriptive and is easy to read.

For fans of high fantasy and those who enjoyed Shadow and Bone.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

