A Game of Thrones (A Song of Fire and Ice #1) by George R.R. Martin

11788809

“A mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep its edge.”

A Game of Thrones follows the lives of, primarily, the Starks and the Lannisters. Winter is coming. Supernatural creatures are gathering beyond the Wall. The Lannisters and the Starks are clashing. A story full of romance, mystery, secrets and betrayal.

The reason that I gave this 4.5 stars instead of 5 is because it was difficult to get into. I think that it’s because of a combination of things. Firsly, the length. 800 pages? A bit of a turn off. Then there were the amount of characters, which I had to keep google-ing so I knew who they were. Nevertheless, I did really enjoy A Game of Thrones and it’s definitely one of the best high fantasy books I have read and I understand the hype that surrounds this series.

The plot was intricate and compelling and moved at a decent pace. The characters, I found, was the best and most engaging part of the book. I’m amazed at how well developed each character was despite the amount of protagonists there were. My favourites were Tyrion Lannister, Arya Stark and Jon Snow. Tyrion was my favourite because he’s such a snarky character. Arya, for a child, is intelligent and fierce. Jon because he’s generally nice guy who found it difficult to fit in, yet was loyal to his father and his half brothers and sisters. I can’t wait to read more of these characters in the rest of the series.

Highly recommend to fans of high fantasy, and definitely recommend if you’re fans of the HBO series.

RATING: ★★★★☆ (4.5)

2 thoughts on “A Game of Thrones (A Song of Fire and Ice #1) by George R.R. Martin

  1. Hey, I totally understand your 4.5 rating. I admit to owning A Game of Thrones for years, but had not read more than the prologue and first chapter before setting it aside. On several occasions.

    But I had relentless friends who were caught up in the long wait for the next book, and had been hounding me into reading the book so they could discuss things with me. I made myself read and at some point, I realized that I had been a clown for not reading it years ago.

    My wife hates fantasy books, but I convinced her to read and she shot past me, reading all of the following books in the series way before I could. (She admitted to staying up late into the night as I slept.)

    You’re totally correct on focusing how great the characters are. Not only the main characters, but almost all of the secondary characters have a real weight and depth to them. Which is amazing since there are so many, many secondary characters.

    Anyway, great review.

    1. It actually took me 7 months to finish it. I just finally sat down to finish it and devoted myself to little else but this. But yeah, I can’t wait to get the next in the series, and I’m still in awe at all the amazing characters. You’re right, the secondary characters were fantastic too.
      And thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

