The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time by Mark Haddon (Review)

8588346

“Prime numbers are what is left when you have taken all the patterns away. I think prime numbers are like life. They are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spent all your time thinking about them.” 

Christopher has Asperger’s Syndrome and is extremely talented at maths and science, but has difficultly understanding people. When his neighbour dog is murdered, Christopher sets out to finds out who did it, and write it down as a novel. However, he uncovers more than just the killer’s identity.

I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this and only really picked it up on a whim because I wanted something small to read. I have never met anybody who is autistic, and I know very little about it and thus I cannot comment on the accuracy of Haddon’s novel. Nevertheless, I rather enjoyed The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time.

I love his passion for maths and his determination to get an A-Level in it. Whilst I found the math equations confusing (I’m not very good at it…like not really at all.) I found that they made the book all the more realistic, along with his drawings.

My favourite thing about The Curious Incident were the characters. I loved reading from Christopher’s point of view, and although he said he couldn’t tell jokes, I found him rather humorous at times. It was a really insightful read, reading from Christopher’s point of view, but also seeing how it affected his family. Another character I really enjoyed was Siobhan. She was patient with Christopher and evidently cared for him.

Whilst it is simply written, it’s impact is anything but. I highly recommend.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

