White Crow by Marcus Sedgwick (Review)

P1120201

“Nothing is more important to learn in life than the interaction of a human being with another human being.”

White Crow focuses on three different people. Rebecca, who has moved to Winterfold. Ferelith who knows the town the best, and its secrets. Also, a priest, from hundreds of years ago who is at the centre of one of the most prominent secrets of Winterfold.

This was a hard one to rate, and is a hard one to review. I was at odds with myself, was 3 stars enough? Yes, I decided, it was. I would have rated it higher but I had this nagging feeling and a voice saying ‘something was missing’. So, I will just stick with 3 stars. It definitely had a Gothic and dark feel to it, so if that is what you are looking for then I do suggest you pick this one up. The first Marcus Sedgwick book which I read was Blood Red, Snow White, which I loved. I realised I had this sat on my shelf for years, and I had never picked it up, so I thought – why not? So I did, and I was surprised, yet disappointed. I enjoyed Marcus’ writing, and his way with words. But I just didn’t enjoy the story as much as I would have liked.

I’m not sure about Rebecca. She wasn’t really a character that stuck with me, and she wasn’t all that interesting, if not a little dull. Ferelith, however, was an intriguing and compelling character. I couldn’t quite put my finger on why, a bit like what Rebecca felt towards her. Ferelith was reckless, and daring and had this desire and obsession to uncover the secrets at Winterfold Hall, yet only decided to when Rebecca came into town. Ferelith had a sort of fascination with Rebecca, but I’m unsure whether it was romantic or not. I guess Marcus wanted to leave that to the readers interpretations. The Priest was also a character which was interesting, and the mystery and intrigue which surrounded him which was slowly uncovered in his journal extracts really did capture my attention. He was at the centre of the secret which Rebecca and Ferelith uncover towards the end, which I may add, was quite horrific.

Overall, some aspects were compelling, others were dull. However, if you are looking for a good Gothic book, and are a fan of Sedgwick then I do suggest you give White Crow a go.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

