The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

tumblr_myvgdi43k61s3q7eyo1_500

“In that moment, Blue was a little in love with all of them. Their magic. Their quest. Their awfulness and strangeness. Her raven boys.”

Possible spoilers ahead.

The Dream Thieves is much more intense than The Raven Boysand their quest becomes a little more dangerous. Ronan’s dreams are intruding on reality more and more, Adam feels different-angrier almost. Gansey grows impatient, and Blue falls in love, and there are new arrivals in Henrietta that pose a threat to the raven boys.

The writing was beautiful and elegant, and right from the first chapter, I knew I was going to love this book. The pacing was fantastic and suspenseful, and I took my time reading it because I wanted to soak it all up.

The Dream Thieves is much more focused on Ronan than Gansey like in The Raven Boys and I loved every second of it. I have a special place in my heart for the broken, sad and lonely Ronan, and I was thoroughly impressed with the character development. Ronan’s scared of his nightmares, yet filled with pride at the things he can fetch from his dreams. Ronan is such a complex character, and in The Dream Thieves we finally find out what happened to his family, his father, and his origins.

“And Ronan was everything that was left: molten eyes and a smile made for war.” 

It wasn’t just Ronan that Maggie managed to make so multi-dimensional, but all the other raven boys as well. I’ll start with Noah, dear, lovely Noah. Noah’s dead, and thus does not play a prominent role within the novel, particularly with the ley lines dysfunctionality at times, yet the times I read about him, I wanted to read more.

“He was fading. It wasn’t that she could see through him. It was that it was hard to remember what he looked like, even while she was looking at him. When he turned his head, she saw him swallow. He mumbled, ‘I’d ask you out, if I was alive.'” 

Please Noah, you’re breaking my heart.

At times, I found Adam rather obnoxious. I know why he was like that, why he got angry so quickly, and I was glad he came through towards the end of the book. I found him rather possessive of Blue, and it was a quality I disliked in him. Perhaps in the next book, I’ll like him more, but in The Dream Thieves I was irritated by him.

Then there’s Gansey, the ‘leader’ of the raven boys. The charming, confident and smart Gansey. I think I love him more in The Dream Thieves than I did in The Raven Boys. His passion for Glendower is admirable and his admiration for Blue is obvious. I can’t bear the thought of him dying.

“He hadn’t realized yet that Gansey could persuade even the sun to pause and give him the time.” 

Then there’s the awesomeness that is Blue. I’m sorry but she is sort-of bad-ass, right?

“Right, sure. Because there’s no girls in politics! I have no interest. Voting? What? I forgot my apron. I think I ought to be in the kitchen right now, actually. My rolling pin-” 

She’s so snarky and I love it.

Blue and Gansey are perfect together. But I am so glad that Maggie is taking her time with their relationship and letting it develop, and basically letting them fall in love.

“I wish you could be kissed, Jane,’ he said. ‘Because I would beg just one off you. Under all this.’ He flailed an arm toward the stars.” 

I loved the magic and the mystery and basically everything about this book. I really loved the addition of the illusive Gray man. I can’t wait for the next one.

Definitely read if you’re a fan of The Raven Boys.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

