If I Stay by Gayle Forman (Review)

6564365

“I realize now that dying is easy. Living is hard.”

One morning everything changes for Mia when she her and her family have a car accident. Mia is still there, watching her wrecked body being taken from the scene to the hospital. As the day goes on she has to put together pieces that has happened and learn what she has lost. She has to make a decision of if she should stay.

I had really high expectations of If I Stay and I was slightly disappointed. I did like Mia and her passion for music and the cello. She was a likeable character and I enjoyed her relationship with Adam, and her friendship with Kim who was another favourite. I felt like Mia’s life was a little too perfect and that made it hard to relate to her.

The writing was good and the plot was also good, but it didn’t keep my attention massively, but it was a nice read. It didn’t have much of an emotional impact on me – despite all that Mia has lost – and I don’t know why. Perhaps because I just found it really hard to relate to Mia at all.

It you like contemporary, romance and realistic fiction then I do suggest you look at If I Stay, and I hope you like it more than I did, but I wouldn’t go into with too high expectations.

MY RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

