The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan (Review)

7583324

“Families are messy. Immortal families are eternally messy. Sometimes the best we can do is to remind each other that we’re related for better or for worse…and try to keep the maiming and killing to a minimum.”

The Sea of Monsters picks up the summer after The Lightning Thief. Percy, after being blamed for his school gym being blown up, makes his way back to Half-Blood Camp with Annabeth and his new friend, Tyson. When they get back to the camp, however, they find chaos, and Thalia’s tree dying. In order to save the tree and the camp, Percy, Annabeth and Tyson set off on a dangerous adventure to retrieve The Golden Fleece before it’s too late. However, they aren’t the only ones looking for the Fleece.

I’ll start by saying that Percy Jackson and the Olympians is such a fun series. As I said in my last Percy Jackson review, I picked up this series on a whim, but I’m so glad I did because if I’m ever in need a light and quick read, this is the go-to series.

I cannot stop comparing to the movie. I don’t know why I just can’t. The two are so different, and I can see why fans of the series are disappointed.

OK, onto the actual review. This was just, if not more, enjoyable than the first. The plot was interesting, and the journey much more dangerous. I love the Greek mythology and how it’s interwoven in the stories. The introduction’s of Circe and Polyphemus and others are really interesting.

The characters were just as enjoyable, but I found that Percy was particularly mean towards Tyson. I’m not sure how I would react to finding out I had a cyclops for a brother, but I found that Percy was rather mean about it. However, I’m glad that he overcame his prejudices and accepted Tyson for what he was. Annabeth was as bad-ass as previously and I’m really enjoying Percy and Annabeth’s relationship development. I’m really interested to find out more about Kronos, and I can assure you I’ll be continuing this series very soon.

RATING: ★★★★☆

One thought on “The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan (Review)

Leave a Reply

