The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Review)

lightning-thief

“If my life is going to mean anything, I have to live it myself.” 

Percy Jackson is a 12 year old kid who finds out that he’s a demigod and not just a normal kid. He’s thrust into danger and heads off to a summer camp for other half-bloods just like him. At first he doesn’t quite fit in, but then he begins to make friends and feels more at home. But then he’s revealed to be the son of Poseidon and finds out he’s part of a secret prophecy. To get him away from danger, Chiron, a centaur, sends him on a quest with his friends Annabeth and Grover. Together they battle monsters and find the Lightning Bolt and have to race against time to stop a full fledged War of the Gods.

I’ve had The Lightning Thief on my kindle for quite a while now and hadn’t bothered to start reading it. Yesterday I was at Uni for a while so I picked up my kindle and picked this on a whim and I’m really glad I did. I sped through it in just over a day because it was so incredibly compelling (and I love greek mythology). I must say that I had begun to compare it to the movie, but it is completely different that I just forget about the movie all together. However, it did influence how I saw the characters because I didn’t see them as 12 year olds but ya’know like Logan Lerman so yeah.

It’s a very light read which is why I read it so quickly, with humorous dialogue and characters who were so well developed and quirky with a really genuine friendship. I really admired Annabeth and thought she was witty and smart and generally kick ass. Although, for 12 year olds they’re all sort of kick ass.

It had a good and intriguing plot and there was a lot of secrets and mysteries and general guessing on my part to who the bad guy was, and was left with a few surprises and revelations.

If you’re a fan of greek mythology and want a quick light read then be sure to give this a go.

RATING: ★★★★☆

4 thoughts on “The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan (Review)

  1. One of my all time favorite books! Great review. Sadly, I read it a few weeks before I saw the movie, so I was pretty much mad when I went to the theater. *facepalm* Fun movie, though. Even though they changed it, it wasn’t that bad.

    1. I did hear it was a pretty bad adaptation, so I’m just glad I watched the movie first (I also enjoyed it) and then read the book and so wasn’t massively disappointed. I might re-watch the movie and see if I get mad, haha. 🙂

      1. I’m glad you were able to enjoy it! I did, but it still made me a little mad. *coughs* Doesn’t mean I haven’t watched it several times since then anyways. . .

Leave a Reply

