Red Rising by Pierce Brown (Review)

PB190233

“I would have lived in peace. But my enemies brought me war.”

Darrow is a Helldiver, and a Red living under the surface of Mars. They are at the bottom of society and are exploited for their labour. The Golds lead them to believe that their sacrifice is for the good of everyone – but it’s all a lie. Mars has already been terraformed and yet the Reds live under a lie. After Darrow loses what he cares most for, he, with the help of a rebel group, becomes a Gold to take them down from the inside. He manages to get into the Institute, the Golds most prestigious school – but the school is a battlefield and Darrow must fight to survive and fight even harder if he’s to come out on top.

Wow,

I received a free copy of Red Rising through a First Reads giveaway on Goodreads, and I am forever thankful that I did because I may not have heard of this book otherwise.

Pierce Brown is a fantastic writer with an even better imagination. Red Rising is by far one of the best dystopian book I have read. World-building is essential in any dystopian novel, and it was done exceptionally well in Red RisingRed Rising is not your typical YA dystopian novel, but much more brutal and shows the harsh reality of society and I think that it holds a very important message about society – that their are inequalities, that the poor are exploited, that the system is not meritocratic and shows the arrogance of the elite. (Like the ArchGovernor and the Proctors)

One of my favourite things about Red Rising was the characters. Each felt so real and each had their own personalities and were very well developed that I really began to care for them. I was even crying by page 50. Darrow was a favourite and I deeply admired the love he showed for Eo and the guilt he felt for feeling like he betrayed her love. He was a strong character. He was cunny, smart, fierce, determined, but rage over took him quite often, but I felt it just made his character all the more genuine. There are several others that I really enjoyed, particularly Pax and Sevro and I really enjoyed the friendship they had with Darrow and the fierce loyalty they had for him. Mustang was also a favourite as well, and at first, so was Cassius, however I completely understand the pain he went through and why he hates Darrow.

Overall, it was a fantastic dystopian read and I highly suggest you buy yourself a copy when it’s released.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

