Witch Finder by Ruth Warburton (Review)

18039069

I received this free from the publishers via NetGalley

Luke has vowed to hunt down the witch who murdered his parents. Malleus Maleficoruma is a brotherhood who hunts witches and who will give him the means and opportunity to hunt the witch who killed his parents. To join the brotherhood there are three trials which Luke must pass, one by knife, one by fire and the final one by hammer, which consists of choosing a witch at random to kill. Rosa is his chosen witch. After the death of her father they have suffered financial hardship and she must marry for money. Luke has a decision to make – her life or his?

I was very exited to start Witch Finder. However, I didn’t love it, I only liked it and it could have been better. There was so much potential at the beginning of the book. The plot could have focused more on the brotherhood and even the witch element rather than on the romance. The romance was cute, but that’s all it was. The plot was average. The characters were OK.

Luke was someone who I thought would be strong willed, as shown as the start, and who would be determined to do anything to get his vengeance on the witch who killed his parents.However, this isn’t the character we had. To be fair, he probably acted how many would act. Plotting and nearly succeeding in completing his third trial, but not being able to go through with it. I guess it shows some slight character development which came through his interaction with Rosa. But he wasn’t a character which I had any strong connection to. Rosa, on the other hand, I really admired. She showed some great character development towards the end. She was naive to start with, then came to accept the responsibility she needed to do for her family, but then she finally stuck up for herself.

I was impressed by some issues it covered, especially the differences in upper class and the working class, yet still shows the hardship and the negatives of both. But also the issue of abuse, in the family and in a partner. It would have been nice to have seen more of the history of witches and the brotherhood, I have a feeling that would have made me enjoy it a bit more. Overall, it was a bit of a let down. That isn’t to say I didn’t like it, I did. Would I recommend it? Perhaps. For a quick easy read I may suggest you have a look at Witch Finder.

RATING: ★★★☆☆

One thought on “Witch Finder by Ruth Warburton (Review)

Leave a Reply

