Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Review)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“Then Celaena and the King of Adarlan smiled at each other, and it was the most terrifying thing Dorian had ever seen.” 

Minor spoilers ahead.

Crown of Midnight picks up not long after Throne of Glass. Celaena is now the Kings Champion and does his bidding when he asks it of her. Celaena and Chaol are spendng a lot of time together, so much so that their feelings for each other become much more developed. There are losses that Celaena suffers that questions her trust for Chaol (and also reduces me to tears) and you see a truly dark side of her. Queen Elena tasks her with another quest…find the King’s source of Power, and before it’s too late.

Crown of Midnight was very action packed, particularly in the second half of the book, and full of mysteries and questions that make you want to read on. The characters were even more well developed. Celaena is an absolute favourite character of mine and I love that she has questioning morality and is at times selfish – it shows just how human she really is. It was also incredibly interesting to see her at her worst because you know that she is to be feared, to the point where she is unrecognizable, yet simultaneously gains respect from Chaol who loves her nonetheless.

“I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.” 

I loved Chaol even more in this and was very pleased that he and Celeana finally got to be happy, for a period of time anyway. I also really adored Nehemia but that ended badly, and I can see why Celaena acted the way she did because they were so close. Dorian I enjoyed, but I enjoyed Chaol much more. Though I amvery interested to see how his story develops in the next books and how – or if he stands up to his father (who I continue to despise).

The plot was very complex and there were several big surprises. These include characters such as Nehemia, Archer, The King, Dorian, and our own Celaena. I was in awe at the last part of the book.

Very complex characters, and unique plot with good pace and action and fantastic writing. I highly suggest you give this a read if you were a fan of Throne of Glass.

MY RATING: ★★★★★

One thought on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas (Review)

Leave a Reply

