Angelbound by Christina Bauer

18459932

I received this copy free from the publisher via NetGalley

Myla Lewis is a quasi-demon, half-demon and half-human. Myla loves to fight in Purgatory’s arena, where souls have chosen trial by combat in order to gain entry to heaven or hell. However, Demons start acting stranger than usual and Myla has her suspicions that something bad is coming.

I really enjoyed Angelbound. There was great world-building involved. I hope we might be able to see more of the other realms in the next books as I think it would be very interesting. In the description they say Myla is kick-ass, and that she is and does she know it. Myla is a really great character and I really liked the development of her character. She had her moments of weakness but that makes her all the more realistic. She was a very likeable character and some of her lines made my cheeks hurt from grinning. I really enjoyed the fact that Angelbound was not just focused on Angels and Demons as there were ghouls, quasi-demons, and thrax and it was a nice original element in the book.

The romance was a nice little addition to Angelbound and I liked that it wasn’t at the forefront of the story. I thought the development of the relationship was nice and realistic and it was good that Bauer was aware that Myla wouldn’t fall in love straight away and was wary of her attraction as she hadn’t felt it before, and I enjoyed the narration on this issue.

The other characters were a nice element. The overbearing and overprotective mother, and I would like to see more of her past as it was very interesting. There was Cissy aswell, and her friendship with Myla was nice. I liked Walker and I especially liked the fact that Bauer didn’t turn the romance into a love triangle because there was plenty of opportunities to do that.

Overall, it was a very good, action-packed read which I highly recommend if you love a good fantasy/paranormal.

RATING: ★★★★☆

2 thoughts on “Angelbound by Christina Bauer

Leave a Reply

