Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu (Review)

Prodigy

“Day, the boy from the streets with nothing except the clothes on his back and the earnestness in his eyes, owns my heart. He is beauty, inside and out. He is the silver lining in a world of darkness. He is my light.” 

Possible spoilers ahead

I really enjoyed Legend, but I enjoyed this much more.

As with Legend there was fantastic world building, which is essential with a dystopian novel, and I think that this is in part due to Marie Lu’s great writing. There was also a mention of the rest of the World and did not just focus on America. It showed that whilst the rest of the world developed, The Republic, in a dictatorship, was lagging behind. It was also good to see the Colonies, and I think that this highlighted the fact that there are negatives in all societies.

Another thing Marie Lu did very well was create sympathies for both the bad guys and the good guys. But who were they? Patriots or the Elector? Colonies or the Republic? Anden or Congress? The villains were difficult to distinguish, and thus questions what you learnt and felt in Legend.

The characters were the strong point in Prodigy. I have a deep admiration for June, and I love the fact that she questioned her loyalty for both the Republic and the Patriots, but always remained loyal to Day. She was as bad-ass as usual, smart, determined and fierce. I really enjoyed Day, but as with Legend, I found myself much more intrigued with June’s story, perhaps because she’s such an interesting and well developed character, or perhaps because at times I got tired of hearing Day moan about how the Elector and the life in the Republic is much better for June than he is. But I really loved his loyalty, protectiveness and devotion to his brother. And wow, what a shocking twist it was at the end *sobs uncontrollably*.

It also didn’t help that Metias was continuously being mentioned and that just brought up a whole host of feelings I didn’t want.

It was action packed and had a quick pace that left to wanting to read on and find out what happened and overall and absolutely awesome read.

RATING: ★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Prodigy (Legend #2) by Marie Lu (Review)

Leave a Reply

