Blood Red Road by Moira Young (Review)

13064072

“Yer in my blood, Saba, he says. Yer in my head. Yer in my breath, yer in my bones…gawd help me, yer everywhere. You have bin since the first moment I set eyes on you.”

Saba lives with her father, her twin brother and her sister in the desert alone. After a dust storm her brother Lugh is taken away. Saba adores Lugh, he is the light to her shadow. This is the start of an perilous and epic journey which Saba takes to find her brother.

Blood Red Road is a fantastically written dystopia. It is full of unforgettable characters, a fantastic world building and a lovely romance. What really drew me in to Blood Red Road was the writing style and the narrative. It did take me a little while to get used to it but it was refreshing and it was nice to read it from Saba’s dialect.

The characters were really well written. Saba was a character, which despite annoying me from time to time, felt realistic and likeable. I also liked her relationship with her younger sister Emmi. I liked the development which went from a type of hatred to love. Lugh was a character which I didn’t see enough of and I am looking forward to reading more about him in the next book. Saba’s admiration of her twin brother was great. I am a twin myself and I could really relate to Saba and her love for Lugh as it isn’t the same as the love for another sibling. Twins are usually exceptionally close having lived a large amount of their life together, they grew up together, played together, went to school together. So it was nice to see Saba’s feelings towards her brother.

I am thankful that romance wasn’t at the forefront of the book. I did like the romance as I did like Jack, but I wouldn’t of liked too much attention on it.

So, overall I really did enjoy this book as it was fast paced with a greatly written world and if you love dytopia’s then I highly suggest you pick this one up.

RATING: ★★★★☆

One thought on “Blood Red Road by Moira Young (Review)

Leave a Reply

