After Eden by Helen Douglas (Review)

tumblr_mvr367wXBA1s3q7eyo1_500

tumblr_mvr367wXBA1s3q7eyo2_500

I received this book via a First Reads giveaway on Goodreads.

“And then he kissed me and time stood still.”

This book was enjoyable, but not as much that I am eager to read the next one.

I’ll start with the positives:

– I really liked Eden. She seemed a very genuine character, wasn’t too whiny, and she smart.
– I liked the development between Ryan and Eden, and I was glad that it wasn’t love at first sight. I found myself smiling like an idiot at their cute dialogue and Eden’s nervousness and blushing. It felt very realistic.
– The plot was an intriguing one which developed at a good pace, and if you enjoy time travel and sci-fi then this may be a book you really enjoy.
– It was a quick and enjoyable read.

The reasons why I put this three-stars.

– There was something missing. I don’t know what, I just felt that something was lacking.
– The writing was good, but nothing exceptional.
– This book was just okay. There was nothing that made it unique or filled you with feels. It wasn’t an emotion filled book.

I do recommend if you’re looking for a light, fun and quick read. It’s easy-going and so may be a good break if you’ve read a lot of heavy-going books recently.

RATING: ★★★☆☆

Leave a Reply

