Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (Review)

11196668

“I don’t care how hard being together is, nothing is worse than being apart.”

Starcrossed is the story of a girl called Helen who has nightmares of a journey which leaves Helen clueless. She wakes up to find her bed sheets are damaged by dirt. Helen then meets a boy and they feel an instant connection, however, they feel the need to kill each other. Helen is unaware of who she is and the path in which her and Lucas are destined to follow.

I actually did genuinely enjoy Starcrossed. I haven’t read many books which are about Greek mythology and I did end up really enjoying it, and it was very refreshing for me. It was a very interesting, original and well explained and developed concept of Greek mythology. I loved Angelini’s writing, it was beautifully done and kept me captivated from the beginning.

I also weirdly enjoyed the meeting between Helen and Lucas, as it wasn’t a typical meeting between two love interests in a book, and I enjoyed the development of their relationship and their characters throughout the book. Then when I was glad where their relationship was it all came crashing down which did leave me quite upset but really wanting to get the next book.

Helen was a good female protagonist, she was an independent thinker, and a strong female lead, definitely a breath of fresh air compared to some female protagonists. The secondary characters were very nice and well developed.

This book had a very good pace, which a great ending that left me wanting more. I would definitely recommend if you enjoy forbidden romance and star-crossed lovers which a great and original paranormal aspect involving well developed Greek mythology.

RATING: ★★★★☆

Leave a Reply

