Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles (Review)

8392787

“We’re actors in our lives, pretendin’ to be who we want people to think we are.” 

Brittany Ellis is forced to be lab partners with bad boy Alex Fuentes, and he is about to threaten everything that she worked so hard for. Alex knows that he is a bad boy, so when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

I had this book on my kindle for a while, and it’s not really my type of book. I normally go for the fantasy/high fantasy, historical fiction or dystopian genre. So, this wasn’t my usual book which I read . So, I kept pushing this aside, however, I’m really glad that I finally read it as it exceeded my expectations.

The plot to the book was not massively original – rich good girl falls for bad boy. However, Elkeles did it really well. The characters were great and extremely well developed and I felt myself getting attached. I love how Elkeles breaks through the typical stereotype of a rich white girl and a poor Mexican boy, as neither wanted the lives they were given and wanted an escape.

I thought the writing style was good and there was a good pace to it, and I really enjoyed it being written in both Brittany’s and Alex’s POVs. I also like the fact that Elkeles must have done a lot of research for the gang aspect of the book, as to me, it’s what I imagine a gang like and I thought it was done really well. There was a lot of Spanish words being used, which is to be expected because Alex is Mexican, but I think it was used too much.

Overall, I really loved this book and it is a must read!

RATING: ★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles (Review)

    1. I heard a lot of good things about it and that’s the only reason I got it. But I am really glad I did 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it aswell 🙂

Leave a Reply

