The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (Review)

893136

“I have hated words and I have loved them, and I hope I have made them right.”

The Book Thief is a story of a girl and her words in Nazi Germany. One main reason why The Book Thief is such a greatly written story is due to who it is narrated by – by death itself. In my opinion this makes the book so much better as war and death go hand in hand, and it wouldn’t have the same effect if it was written in Liesel’s perspective.

So, as you can guess I absolutely loved this. How can you not? You have some fantastic characters (shout-out to Hans, Max, Rudy, Liesel) that you just have to love. Liesel is one character which I adored as she loved books and words and therefore one of the characters I could relate to. There’s such depth and kindness in the characters that my heart had been horribly ripped in half by the end of it. I was silently crying for the last third of the book, having to stop on several occasion so I did not suffer a complete emotional breakdown, as it was very hard to say goodbye to the characters.
Why Markus Zusak, why?
The relationship between Liesel and her ‘Papa’, however, was what completely broke me. What a loving and caring relationship. What a kind man. What a heartbreaking story.

Liesel and Rudy. Need I say more? My heart can’t take so much.

The story was beyond beautiful. It’s obvious when you first start reading this that this book is more than just a book about the War. It’s a book about a young girl who loved books – she loves to read them and she loves to write them. And Markus Zusak’s writing is simply beautiful, and it is what makes this story so wonderful. Death itself hinted at some of the characters and what was to become of them. This meant you read the book hoping these characters could outrun Death.

Unfortunately, by the end of it, Death caught up.

Some people criticise The Book Thief for it’s slow pace some times, however I didn’t have that problem as I felt captivated from the start. But those who do feel like that, just keep reading, I promise you it will be worth it!
Such an amazing book. I wholeheartedly recommend.

RATING: ★★★★★

P.S The cover with Liesel dancing with Death is my all time favourite cover and it fits in perfectly with the story.

5 thoughts on “The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (Review)

  1. Loved this book as well! This book was so unique because Death was the one narrating. Did you know that there will be a movie adaptation soon? 🙂 The trailer looks perfect!

    1. Yes, I am really looking forward to it! I don’t get it till January though because I live in the UK. Geoffrey Rush is going to make a perfect Hans I think. Excited!

Leave a Reply

