Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) by Robin LaFevers (Review)

9565548

“Why be the sheep when you can be the wolf?”

Ismae has spent years being abused by her father, and then sold onto to be abused by a husband. She is then saved by a priest and taken to a convent to serve St Mortain, where she is to kill those who have had the mark placed upon them. Ismae has been given a second chance and she is determined to make the most of it. She is an obedient student. Mortain will always come first.  

To be honest, I didn’t really have that high expectations of Grave Mercy when I went into, but it had my attention grabbed from the first chapter and was a pleasant suprise. I loved the concept of the saints and the convent and these women serving St. Mortain, (I mean who wouldn’t love assassin nuns?) I found the concept very original and intriguing.  Grave Mercy’s plot was very politicised, however, I  really enjoyed the political aspect of this book. Don’t get me wrong, I could see how this may bore a lot of people. However, being someone who enjoys politics I did enjoy it. Especially since many young adult books don’t have a plot involving so much politics and it was actually very refreshing.

The characters were also very likeable and I felt like their was a large amount of character development. Ismae was a character which I felt experienced the most character development as she went from feeling vulnerable as she was sold from her father to a new husband, and then she found strength in the convent and became independent and brave. In the beginning, when Ismae first went on her assignments I felt like she was a bit naive and blindly followed orders given my the Convent and St. Mortain, which shows a lot of loyalty. Then throughout the book I enjoyed the development of her character in her questioning Mortain and, most importantly the Convent, and she eventually decided which path she wanted to take herself. I also enjoyed Duval, and again I loved the development and depth of his character. I would have liked to see more of other characters and I would have liked to have seen more depth to these characters. However, I did enjoy the book despite this. The main this I loved about the characters was the amount of loyalty shown towards each other.
The romance in this book was lovely. It wasn’t too rushed and I really enjoyed seeing the relationship development between Duval and Ismae, as it went from distrust to love.
The writing was beautiful in this book and it flowed nicely, with a lovely pace. Its a must read and I would definitely recommend to those who enjoy Historical Fiction, with some politics, Romance and Fantasy.

RATING: ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

