Days of Blood and Starlight by Laini Taylor (Review)

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love and dared to imagine a world free of bloodshed and war.

This is not that world.

Art student and monster’s apprentice Karou finally has the answers she has always sought. She knows who she is—and what she is. But with this knowledge comes another truth she would give anything to undo: She loved the enemy and he betrayed her, and a world suffered for it.

In this stunning sequel to the highly acclaimed Daughter of Smoke & Bone, Karou must decide how far she’ll go to avenge her people. Filled with heartbreak and beauty, secrets and impossible choices, Days of Blood & Starlight finds Karou and Akiva on opposing sides as an age-old war stirs back to life.

While Karou and her allies build a monstrous army in a land of dust and starlight, Akiva wages a different sort of battle: a battle for redemption. For hope.

But can any hope be salvaged from the ashes of their broken dream?

“I am one of billions. I am stardust gathered fleetingly into form. I will be ungathered. The stardust will go on to be other things someday and I will be free.”

absolutely loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, so much so that I felt the sequel would be hard to beat. However, I was wrong. Days of Blood and Starlight was just as good, if not better.

As with Daughter of Smoke and Bone, this book was so beautifully written that it’s hardnot to imagine you’re part of the magical world where seraph and chimaera exist. I think that’s a really strong trait of Laini Taylor that makes this book so beautiful – she has the ability to make you believe. The chimaera and seraph were beautiful also, and the victims are not so easily labelled because such atrocities have occurred on both parts. I hold sympathies for both the seraph and chimaera.

The plot was just as riveting as the first book, but with less focus on the love between Akiva and Karou. But don’t think that this book lacked romance because it did not. The character development of Karou focused on her identity that she had forgotten but then gained, but still trying to identify with her life as Karou and her life as Madrigal. Akiva struggled with the consequence of his actions from the previous book, and this really shows his qualities as a seraph. I must admit, I really enjoy Karou and Akiva as a couple, and I’m really glad that Laini Taylor took the opportunity to write these to characters separately, highlighting their own strengths rather than their dependence on each other. Karou has always been a character I have admired and she was just as fiercely loyal as I remembered and her strength and courage is unquestionable. There are many other characters that I enjoyed throughout this book. For example, I would have loved more Sveva and the Dashnag. I’m also really interested in the brief introduction of the Stelian race and their queen.

I would highly recommend that if you loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone then you definitely should not put off reading this because I thoroughly enjoyed it much more than the first.

RATING: ★★★★★

GOODREADS

Image

Leave a Reply

